Expect nothing, receive everything! - Reisverslag uit Manāli, India van Patricia Christina Bordes - WaarBenJij.nu Expect nothing, receive everything! - Reisverslag uit Manāli, India van Patricia Christina Bordes - WaarBenJij.nu

Expect nothing, receive everything!

Door: patricia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Patricia Christina

26 Juli 2009 | India, Manāli

Hey listen, What’s happening here!

I m supposed to be surrounded by Indians by now. And all I see is the whole continent of Africa. I m supposed to be surrounded by Sikhs, by Hindus, by beautiful long black hair tailed women, even when I m just in Paris. But all I see is little curly hair people and really strong big black men. Really big mamas with their gorgeous earth-color printed dresses, smelling dry and again earthy. They are making lot’s of noise. Claiming the whole arrival hall. Travelng with even more luggage than the people I see around them.

Hello! It’s not a public kitchen here! Helloooo. Somebody out there?

Where is the flight to my country, with my people? If there exists a God, you better listen. You made a mistake up there. You better listen to me, before somebody get’s hurt. You hear me. You can better listen to me. Bring me to my tribe before somebody get’s hurt. Somebody, and you might know who it is!

What. That’s a direct line with the Allmighty. Cause in two minutes I found my clan.

With just a delay of 1,5 hour in Paris I arrive in Delhi. Home! In the middle of the night the warmth is covering me as a comfortable family blanket. Gautum is there to pick me up and till three in the night he is cracking my head, confronting me with my way of thinking (talking about getting out of the comfort zone) and making jokes which makes his vision according to business much lighter and better to digest for me ;)
At 3 I hit the pillow and I immediately drift away.

In less than 30 hours, 2 meetings later, 4 meals further and lot’s of pleasure with familiar faces I continue my journey.

I’m observing a movie which is slowely unveiled to me in the Kalki Shtb Train. I’m happy I listened to Anu who advised me to take a train.

I m heading towards the mountains. Leaving the city behind which I keep enjoying constantly. Although Delhi is according to many people not the safest city, i love to be there. Perhaps also because I’m welcomed by great hearted warm people who love to talk, exchange visions about the economy, about business, about life, the differences between East and West. All while we share food. All while we crack jokes.

As the train slowly gets on it’s speed, the colors and images slowly merge into one great colored stretched mixed picture.

Nevertheless I m still able to catch the romantic sight versus the harsh reality of India. And I love it. Slumbs built on colored garbage or the other way around… People doing their susu all over the place, sleeping between it, graffiti on walls, half painted houses. Do these people feel anything of the crises or is it just something the white boards are suffering off? Will they be the survivors of the Mexican flu? (According to my opinion they must be the strongest people on this planet, as they are able to live under these circumstances!)

Once in the rural area a wonderful green scenery is shown to me. Sometimes all of the sudden big vinex constructions rising up. India is upcoming. And it’s doing it very quick. Proud, strong. Convinced, focused. Tremendous will to go forward. Things I don’t see that much anymore in my birth country.

Will this become the first world…. Only future can tell us.

Next to me an old man starts a conversation. And as always I m willing to listen to eldery. My attention shifts from dreaming and wondering into learning. Soon I discover he is a proud owner of a son and a daughter. Both living abroad. I love the way he’s talking. So warm hearted, so proud of his two kids who manage so well. It makes me long to have my own ‘tribe’. And only God knows when that will happen.


He is proud to talk about what he achieved in his life and what makes him get up in the morning. He is absolutely not shy to share his knowledge and vision according how life should be lived. It feels like I m talking to my grand daddy. While talking to him suddenly a beautiful phrase pops up in my mind ‘As a tree grows and starts bearing fruit, the more it will bow down to it’s roots’….


The funny thing is, is that his visions don’t differ that much of mine. Also I believe in the development of the human being, in equality of rights of both sexes, in honesty, love, bonding and sharing what you have instead of over consuming and wasting things. Also I believe in true love and companionship, instead of forced being together. I guess it’s something universal, which rises above any visible difference between any human being.

As sudden as this old beautiful man started his lecture. As sudden it stops. And when I reach Chandigarh and get out of my train, I almost evaporate. ‘Anu, what is happening here! Delhi was hot, this is even worse!!!!’ When I reach downstairs, I m happy he is already waiting for me!

After a little tour through Chandigarh we immediately head towards the mountains. Via Punjab we end up in Himachal Pradesh. Everywhere i look i c those beautiful sikh people which do make me believe i m a figure in a fairy tale! Manali a peaceful village high up in the mountains. When we reach we check in and we discover we have the best rooms of the hotel! Beer tastes wonderful. The sky is filled with stars. What I get to see the upcoming days is wonderful, stunning and beyond expectation! The mountains are calming me. I feel at home. However I can not live here 24/7 for weeks. But for holiday and weekends this can be a great area. I count my blessing and sometimes I just can’t find the right words to express how thankful I m to sit here with people who made this all happen.

Sitting high up in the mountains I get overwhelmed by feelings which can only cover the headline of this article ‘Expect nothing and I discovered I received just everything’!

(Currently I m in Chennai. Venky got into hospital due to an accident. Instead of going to Goa I decided to stay with Megha in Chennai till things are settled down more).

  • 26 Juli 2009 - 11:04

    Cisca:

    Hee Trix, mooi verhaal! Fijn om zulke goeie berichten van je te lezen. Dat gevoel van dankbaarheid dat jij daar mag zijn herken ik zo ontzettend. Ik denk ook dat je dankbaar moet zijn, er zijn zoveel mensen die alleen maar kunnen dromen zo'n fantastische reis te kunnen maken en andere culturen te ontdekken. We zijn zeer bevoorrecht. En het is goed om dat ook te beseffen. Dikke zoen! xx

  • 26 Juli 2009 - 20:46

    Mama Mia:

    Wat een belevenissen weer allemaal. Ja, van oude mensen valt echt nog wel wat te leren.Leuk dat de meeste dingen zo universeel zijn.We hebben genoten van je verhaal en kijken nu uit naar je foto's, want die zullen wel weer prachtig zijn.
    Wij zijn inmiddels weer aan de Normandische kust gearriveerd en hebben de Alderney-race aan den lijve ondervonden. Ook spectaculair, want je wordt door een zeestraat geperst met een gigantische vaart.We liepen zelfs 13 1/2 mijl en het water kookte. Niet wat temp betreft, maar door stromingen en tegenstromingen. Ongelooflijk nietig ben je dan in die machtige natuur en ieder heeft daar dan ook zo zijn eigen gedachten en gevoelens bij.
    Gisteren bij Barfleur kregen we een herhaling van diezelfde stromingen en ik moest veel aan je denken toen jij zo zeeziekwas. Je zou het nu waarschijnlijk weer geworden zijn, want we werden alle kanten uit geslingerd. Maar goed:jij je belevenissen hoog en wij laag. Nog even en we zien elkaar weer, want we proberen over een dag of 10 weer thuis te zijn.
    Morgen nog even langs een landingsplaats hier en dan door naar Ouistreham en dan naar het noorden.Hier langs die kusten varen we iedere keer over het strand een haven binnen en je komt daarna in een soort stenen haven waar het water niet uit kan lopen.Bij eb is alles buiten de haven droog en lopen er mensen langs de havenmond.Schitterend:eeuwen minstens 2x per 24 uur.Geniet nog even en veel liefs van ons Pa en Mama Mia

  • 27 Juli 2009 - 09:09

    Casper & Elsbeth:

    Hi Trixie, net terug van vakantie uit Spanje met de meiden lees ik je mooie reisverslag. Het is fijn om te lezen hoe jij jouw India in al zijn kleuren en geuren omarmd. Veel plezier, wees voorzichtig and we meet when you get back in NL. Gaat zeker lukken!

    Liefs E & C

  • 27 Juli 2009 - 16:07

    Saskia Claassen:

    Hey Trixie,
    Heerlijk, weer jouw India-ervaringen te lezen! Je bent weer net zo aan het genieten als bij je eerdere reizen zo te lezen!!
    Bij jouw verhalen, zijn die van mij maar saai, haha! Wij zijn net terug van een weekendje Kronenburg (Eifel, Duitslan). Ook heerlijk gerelaxed, gelunched in leuke tentjes en ook heerlijk gegeten.
    Ik zie uit naar je volgende belevenissen!
    Liefs, Saskia

  • 27 Juli 2009 - 16:16

    Mandy:

    Dag lieffie,
    Fijn om iets van je te horen, as always ;-)
    Enjoy!!
    Liefs van moi

  • 27 Juli 2009 - 16:32

    Naat:

    Right on track baby :D

    Geniet ervan!! Maar zo te zien doe je dat al weer & meer als jezelf!!

    Mooi te lezen... word er helemaal happy van :D

    Knuf

  • 01 Augustus 2009 - 11:43

    Aukje:

    Lief trixie

    Heerlijk om weer met je mee te reizen en mee te beleven. Je bent een intense genietster en kan dit ook heel goed overbrengen. Ik geniet er ook van. Ben en ik zijn weer terug uit Canada. Zijn zus werd 80 en wij hebben dit mee mogen beleven. Erg gezellig.Meis, ik blijf met je mee reizen.Dikke knuffel

    Aukje

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Patricia Christina

There is only one way to happinez, happinez is the way.

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 430
Totaal aantal bezoekers 83036

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2007 - 29 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: